Beneath The Lake Amazon Reviews

Amazon Customer Reviews

 

 

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 5.0 out of 5 stars Lake Lanier 

By Linda M.on December 31, 2017

Format: Kindle Edition

I really enjoyed this book. I’m not really into Sci-Fi Fantasy but I felt like this was more mystical magic then Sci-Fi. It was a real page-turner and if I hadn’t of read it over a Holiday Season I would have finished it in one night. I’m glad I was gifted a copy through Xpresso book tours. I chose to review this book and was not under any obligation or compensated in any way for reviewing it.

1st-in-series, 5-stars, contemporary, fun-read, historical, mystery, mystical, page-turner, paranormal, sci-fi-fantasy, southern-mystery, time-travel.

 

⭐⭐⭐⭐ 4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely time travel romance

By  The Word Nerd Reviews on December 21, 2017

Format: Paperback

This was a lovely time travel story that kept you thinking. For some reason it took me a while to get into this one.

I was at about the 20% mark on my Kindle before I thought to myself that I’d be finishing it. I’m not sure what it was exactly. The author has a nice writing style, the story moves along at a good pace, and the characters are well developed. I honestly can’t pin down why it didn’t grab me from the first few pages, but it wasn’t a fault of the story. Maybe it was just me? Maybe it was that Lacey travels back to 1949 rather than further back like many time travel stories and it was a bit of a mental adjustment? I don’t know.

But if this happens to you I seriously recommend persevering because the story is a good one. It has a bit of a suspenseful theme going through it where the POV switches to someone in Lacey’s own time period who seems to be stalking her with malicious intent. The who and why doesn’t become clear until later in the book and it is a very satisfying ending when it happens.

I very much enjoyed Beneath the Lake by Casi Mclean and I’d certainly recommend picking up a copy.

*I voluntarily read a copy of this book given to me by the publisher. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

 

⭐⭐⭐⭐ 4.0 out of 5 stars  I was sucked down the drain right with Lacey

ByThe Book Junkie Reads . . .Top Contributor: Fantasy Bookson November 20, 2017

Format: Kindle Edition

This was another world of reading. I was sucked down the drain right with Lacey. There were times I was confused but the story itself took you on a journey. I was trapped just as Lacey was in that town below the waters. I could not put it down. I was very happy that I was on a road trip while I was listening. I did not want it to end. I was eager for each new discovery.

Learning about Lacey/Maggie in both her times was fascinating. Having all things still going on around Lacey/Maggie and finding out what really happened to the town below the lake. The time travel and the two different worlds with characters was fascinating. Each time had its own set of characters that gave to the story as it progressed.

Things that hindered my ability to give it a much higher rating was the wobble of POV. I found that I do not like the switch of POV between 1st and 3rd. It kind of throws me off kilter just a bit and it takes me time to catch back up to where I was. I did find that the variation in the POV was pivotal to the past and present, Maggie/Lacey character. There was a point to it but it just did not go over so well for me.

Beneath the Lake was a simmering sweet romance with mystery, suspense, and much of time (past and present). The protection of the secret of the Lake will become a life-long commitment. There are unique elements to this read that makes it different from other time-travel mystery romances. This was not a predictable read other than Maggie/Lacey and Bobby. That was not always guaranteed.

Narrator Review of . . . BENEATH THE LAKE (Lake Lanier Mysteries, #1) . . . Was everything that I was hoping for and a bit more. I enjoyed the diction, clarity, pacing. Aundrea made the transitions feel like it was second nature. The audio was smooth flowing no lengthy pauses, gaps and no hiccups.

 

⭐⭐⭐⭐ 4.0 out of 5 stars  

By KRLGA  on November 12, 2017Lacey Madison (aka Maddie) hurries out of her friends party after she catches her boyfriend in a romantic encounter with another woman. But she didn’t count on being followed by a stranger, to have a terrible storm, or to loose control of her car. Next things she knows, she is being rescued by a handsome stranger who claims it is 1949 instead of 2012. Maddie has no idea what happened or if she will ever be able to find a way back home.

This is very much so a love story that just so happens to have a mystery and some time travel thrown in. The main point of the book is about destiny and true love, the lengths people will go to save the one they love. The book had a very wholesome flair to it that made the sweetness of the romance shine through (keep in mind that like 75% of the book is set back in the 1950’s where the world seemed more wholesome in general compared to today).

My biggest complaint was Maddie, and I feel terrible saying that considering most of the book is narrated by her. At times though I just found her so frustrating! She was a master of jumping to conclusions, making assumptions about every situation without ever communicating with the people around her and doing super dramatic things that could have been avoided. But no, let’s just assume the worst so we can wallow, it’s much more fun that way. She at times failed to understand the slang of the 1950’s and then was shocked when they didn’t understand her. Also, I was kind of surprised at how easy it was for a modern, driven, educated woman of today to be totally happy back in early 1950 where she couldn’t use her degree/career, technology or women’s rights- I expected some push-back from Maddie, but there never was. Bobby was super dreamy, pretty much the perfect guy and 100% accepting regardless of the fact his world turned upside down.

There were chapters inserted occasionally that were narrated from a mysterious man’s point of view back in the present time, someone who was out to manipulate Maddie and her whole world without her even being aware. I think those were my favorite parts because it made me try and guess and put things together even though I was still missing lots of info until the last few chapters. Casi did a good job of keeping me guessing and I liked how the connection was formed between all the pieces.

I listened to this as an audiobook and I really enjoyed the overall experience. The narrator Aundrea did a great job of bringing all the characters to life as well as creating the world. The sound quality was spot on and I felt like I was immersed in the different times. I would like to listen to more books being narrated by Aundrea in the future and I think that this story was a good choice to listen to.

There were some questions that I would have love resolved when the book ended, but overall I found this book to be very interesting and unlike anything I have read before. I would love to get my hands on the next book in the Lake Lanier Mystery series to see what kind of place in history the characters will end up next (and I saw that it was Piper’s turn to explore and I really liked her). I think this book will appeal to anyone looking for a sweet romance with a dash of the paranormal and mystery thrown in for flavor.
I received this audiobook as part of my participation in a blog tour with Audiobookworm Promotions. The tour is being sponsored by Aundrea Mitchell and Casi McLean. The gifting of this audiobook did not affect my opinion of it.

 

 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 5.0 out of 5 stars  I’m Totally Hooked

By Elizabeth Tullos Robertson October 27, 2017

Format: Kindle Edition

Casi McLean’s Beneath the Lake is intriguing, mysterious, completely believable and a great read! She captures the nuances of two eras perfectly and all of the twists and turns keep you engrossed page after page to find out what happens next. I couldn’t put it down! Definitely a book I will and have recommended. Can’t wait to read her newest “Into the Mist”…..I’m totally hooked!

 

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 5.0 out of 5 stars Love can defy time!

By AudioBook Romance on September 12, 2017

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Love can defy time!

Time travel stories can go wrong so easy, and I’m so glad this one went so right! If time travel sounds daunting to you, just pay attention to the time and date when it is given and you will be just fine. I’m a big fan of Doctor Who so the concept of multiple timelines doesn’t phase me.

The story was well written and heartfelt. The steam factor is light for those that do not like those sorts of stories. This story takes place around Lake Lanier, Georgia, which I have lived not too far from at one point in time. I never knew that much detail about it other than it was a man-made lake so of course I had to immediately do some of my own research. The “Lake” in Beneath The Lake is of great importance and in a way its own character. Without it, there would be no story. I wouldn’t say it is the main focus of the story, as I feel that the true point is love and how it sometimes takes us the long way around.

The story has multiple time lines running concurrently but all of them seem to in one way or another focus around Miss Lacey Madison Montgomery. She goes by many version of this name depending on who she is conversing with. She finds her boyfriend in a compromising position at the beginning of the book which becomes the catalyst for her late night ride into the storm that changes her life forever.

It’s really hard to talk about this story without giving anything away, but I can say it’s so good I want to read it again. I want to listen to from the beginning for a completely different experience. It makes me want to do 2 read alongs on my website to this story. One as a new reader experiencing the mystery and a second read to experience the emotions that are sure to come.

This is my first read/listen by Casi McLean and I want more. She wove an excellent story of love and endurance that I could not stop listening to.

Aundrea Mitchell does an excellent job on all levels of story narration. The story telling has levels of expression that makes it more than just the details of the story. The character voices both male and female are distinct and well done and there are a lot of both throughout this story.

This gets 5 time bending hearts out of 5 from me and recommended to anyone who loves a good romantic read with a stellar HEA.

I plan to feature this story as a Read Along With Me so be sure to check audiobookromance.com/read-along-with-me
Ebook obtained through Kindle Unlimited
Audiobook obtained for free at my request and I am voluntarily leaving this unbiased review
More Reviews @ GoodReads Id: AudiobookRomance
More Reviews @ AudiobookRomance.com

 

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 5.0 out of 5 stars Fun story full of twists and turns and surprises

By Sandy on August 26, 2017

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Fun story full of twists and turns and surprises. Love time travel stories and love Casi McLean’s time slip idea. I’ve been to Lake Lanier and enjoyed reading about its history. Lori 09-24-17 

New Audible Reviews:

 Sheryl Beauchemin Rochester, NY 09-12-17 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“I SWEAR, IT KEPT ME WONDERING…”
Any additional comments?
I was provided this audiobook through Audiobook Boom at no charge by the narrator in exchange for an unbiased review.

This one blew my expectations. The time bounced back and forth between the 34 years, Each chapter began with the date and month. The entire story happens within a few months of the present timeline. Although right away I did figure out the major player in the time connection, I couldn’t for the life of me see how it was to play out. The book held tight in it’s consistently, considering the different time periods had different characters and emerging sub-plots.

This is one of Andrea Mitchell’s best narrations. Minimal instances of the annoying “…(pause) He said.”

Two Thumbs Up!

 

Lori 09-24-17 ⭐⭐⭐✨

“Beneath the Lake”
Any additional comments?
3.5 stars

Can you find your future in the past? I love time-travel stories and this one is no exception. I really enjoyed it. It’s a good story with a little mystery, suspense, intrigue and romance. It’s an entertaining story that pulled me in from the start and held my complete attention. I’m looking forward to the rest of the series. Hopefully they will be available on Audible soon.

You need to pay attention to the beginning of each chapter. Occasionally it took a minute to realize what time period the story was in. Even though the year and location are given at the start of each chapter it is a bit confusing at times especially in the beginning.

Even though it’s a really good and very enjoyable it is a little predictable a time or two, although it does have several little twists that are very unexpected. I was actually hoping things would turn out a bit different. I can’t really go into that without giving away the story. By the time you get to the end of the story your so wrapped up in it you forget how it started and then everything comes together.

Aundrea Mitchell did a good job with the narration. She has a pleasant voice that is easy to listen to for long periods of time. It’s clearly spoken with a nice even pace. She has a distinct inflection/emphasis on her words at times. Good character voices. Even though her male voices are good and she was able to bring the story and characters to life with her narration this would have been a great story with dual narration. I like that she just does a slight change in tone for her male characters. It’s enough to distinguish them. Very enjoyable.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and voluntarily provided this review.

  Heather North Indiana 09-24-17 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Unique story”
Loved the story and the time travel elements of it. Characters were great and relatable. The narrator did an awesome job! I received a free review copy of this audiobook at my request and I have voluntarily left this review.

Tyler U. 09-19-17 ⭐⭐⭐⭐”time travel romance book”
I was given this free review copy audio book at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

This was very reminiscent of The Time Traveler’s Wife. The narration was well done and the writing was pretty good, though at times it took me a few minutes to identify what time the story was in. All in all, a solid, if heavy on the romantic angst book.

  Catrina P 09-18-17 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“A fantastic love story with a time travel twist”
Beneath the Lake is a very well written story that incorporated romance, mystery and time travel. As the story began to unfold, I thought I could see right where things were going, but then just enough of a twist would happen to keep me guessing. Well done!

I thought the narrator’s performance was also well done. I found this book very easy to listen to.

I was provided this review copy audiobook by the narrator, author, or publisher and have voluntarily left this review.

Wonder Woman 09-12-17 ⭐⭐⭐⭐

“beneath the lake”
overall a good book. was slow in some parts then fast in others. confusing in the beginning of whats happening but it becomes clearer as the book goes on. was given a copy of this book at my request so im leaving this unbiased review.

Jess P. 09-06-17 ⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Time Travelers”

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?
Yes. I normally do not read time traveler books but this one sounded different so I gave it a shot. I was not disappointed. It had minor discrepancy’s thru out the book but they were few.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?
This book moved very slow in the beginning and at times was a little hard to follow. I found myself rewinding multiple times but as the book progressed the author sped it up some and that made a better read.

Any additional comments?
I think the more this author writes the better she will become. I would like to read one of her books five years from now and I bet I wont be able to put it down.

I received this book for free for a honest review.

 

“Good Story”
I got this ARC via audiobook boom and this is my own review. The narrator sounded like she had a cold and this made the narration irritating. The story is a time travel like no other that I have listened to before. As I listened it seems that this could really happen the story was so well developed. I liked most of the characters and am glad that the two lovers are guarding the passage between times. With a different narrator, this would have been a good story for me.

 Clare Chu USA 09-03-17 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Intriguing Time Travel with suspense”
This was a very interesting audiobook and story. But for me, if there is a mystery, I need to re-read portions I didn’t get. Sometimes, it felt like the past-time wasn’t really past, for example, Bobby "knew" that phone service was out all the way to Atlanta, but he should only know that his landline didn’t work. Then we skipped back to some intermediate time with a stalker, and then back to the future, and I couldn’t figure out why the main character was at both places at the same time? [until I read the ebook and saw it was a flashback of the future while she was dreaming in the past], back to the past, and then future again.

However, by re-reading (the ebook) parts I didn’t get, I could follow the story and I love stories that are different from the usual and this one has paranormal, suspense, romance, time-travel, and creepiness.

I liked the narrator’s expressive voice and she’s very easy to listen to. Very enjoyable.

*I was provided this free review copy audiobook by the author, narrator, or publisher in exchange for an honest review.*

Amazon & Goodreads Reviews:

The good, the bad and the ugly…We post them all here…Amazon isn’t quite so accomodating. Sometimes reviews just disappear from their site, so we decided to head them off on ours. If you’ve posted and Amazon review for Beneath The Lake and don’t see your review listed below, please add your’s in the comment secttion and we will put it on our list.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

By Tena Stetler on July 13 2017

Interesting concept. I truly enjoyed the book, especially since I’ve been on Lake Lanier. Never look at the lake the same way. LOL Look forward to the next in the series! Beyond the Mist!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Time Travel with Romance and Suspense

By J. A. Davis on February 23, 2017

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Beneath the Lake by Author Casi McLean is a time travel novel that switches between 2012 and 1949 with the lake as its central theme. Author McLean used the formation of Lake Lanier as part of her historical reference and focal point. When she zeros in on the main heroine, Lacey, and her slip into the 1940, the author’s descriptions were colorful and accurate drawing the reader into story. This is a novel with romance and suspense cleverly woven together to keep a reader engaged and looking for clues to try to guess the ending.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

By Kimberly Keyes on Sep 30, 2016

In Beneath the Lake, a fantasy time-travel romance, Casi McLean shows herself to be a true story teller. From the first chapter, you will be hooked into the story of Lacey (aka Maddie) and her hero (Can’t tell who he is!! It’ll spoil the first few chapters!!). You’ll want to know how this time travel will occur, and when, and once it does, you’ll want to know what’s at stake, but Casi will keep you guessing. Once Lacey is in the thick of things in another time, you’ll really grow to like and root for this her character, a woman who has relationship troubles and parent issues just like the rest of us. Beneath the Lake’s sweet love story will warm your heart while the overall tale will keep you glued to the pages. For such a complex concept as time travel, I admire the way Casi Maclean manages to move her cast of characters around, and all without leaving any irritating “holes” that can happen when there’s a lot of moving parts, so to speak. The one thing that made me sad has to do with a certain someone who gets left behind in the past…but can’t say more than that without giving too much away. I highly recommend this book by Casi McLean and am looking forward to reading the second book in this series.

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

By Roma Dubac on Sep 30, 2016
I throughly enjoyed Beneath the Lake by Casi McLean. The story grabbed my attention from the very beginning and kept me hooked as it traveled back in time. The nostalgia was well-researched, with many interesting facts about that time period added. The characters, especially Lacey Montgomery, were multi-dimensional, so I kept wanting to know more about them. Everything came  together in an exciting climax; it left me curious and waiting for the sequel!

 

3.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐

Quite a good read

By Poppy on September 27, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

Quite a good read not my usual kind of story but i really enjoyed it recommended.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Fantasy, time-travel, and romance all in one

By RF Hayes on September 30, 2016

Format: Paperback

In Beneath the Lake, a fantasy time-travel romance, Casi Maclean shows herself to be a true story teller. From the first chapter, you will be hooked into the story of Lacey (aka Maddie) and her hero (Can’t tell who!! It’ll spoil the first few chapters!!). You’ll want to know how this time travel will occur, and when, and once it does, you’ll want to know what’s at stake. Once Lacey is in the thick of things in another time, you’ll really grow to like and root for this complex character who has relationship troubles and parent issues just like the rest of s. Beneath the Lake’s sweet love story will warm your heart while the overall tale will keep you glued to the pages. I highly recommend this book by Casi Maclean and am looking forward to reading the second book in this series.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A must read!

By Devon McKay on September 1, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

I absolutely loved this book. This was my first time travel read and it was well worth my time. I was hooked from the first page. McLean navigated from present to past seamlessly. The characters are well developed and interesting. I related to Lacey especially. She’s my kind of heroine!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A Complex Story

By Laura Hartland on July 1, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

This is a complex and multi-layered story that builds in intensity as it goes along. The author takes her time setting up the action because there’s so much to put in motion. I mistakenly thought the book moved a bit slowly in the beginning––turns out I should have been paying closer attention to what I mistook for straightforward storytelling and flashbacks. I missed a whole lot of clues that fit together flawlessly to make for a killer ending,––but you won’t get any hints from me! I definitely wouldn’t want to ruin the fabulous climax of this one for anything.

I’m not sure what impressed me more the way the author kept all the strands of the web straight in her mind till the big finish, or the amount of research she must have done. Most of the story takes place in 1949/1950 and references were plentiful and accurate. Even the language fit the bill. Quite an achievement and much more than a love story, though the tale is certainly a very romantic one! All I can say is, don’t count your villains before they’re revealed and enjoy!

 

3.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐

Quite a few people have enjoyed it … apparently, I’m the mutant at table 9 on this one.

By Julie on June 2, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

This is the first book that I’ve read by Casi McLean and I believe the first that I’ve read about time-travel. I’m thinking that I’m wrong about that though …

Before sitting down to write this review, I really scoured other reviews to make sure that I wouldn’t leak a secret that would really ruin the book for someone. This was not a fun task … I absolutely hate reading what someone else thinks of a book right before I write my review, I don’t want their thoughts to sway what I think, you know? Anyhow … I ended up writing down my thoughts and then taking out spoilers. Worked out pretty well, I think.

Okay … it’s no secret that this book is about time-travel. It’s all over Goodreads and it’s not something that everyone is keeping quiet. I’m a-okay with the idea of time-travel. Buuuutttt … when the story jumps from 2011 to 2012 to 1949 … it’s a bit much. I almost got whiplash just trying to keep up with the times. The switching was so confusing at the beginning of the book that I almost put the book down a few times. It just really stole something from the book. I wasn’t able to completely immerse myself into the story because I never felt like I was on steady ground because of the disorienting time changes.

The meat of the story was good but then again, there was just so much going on that I couldn’t fully enjoy the crux of the whole book. For it to read as slow as it did, you wouldn’t think that there would be too many things going on. There was a lot of inner dialogue and explanations that were a little too lengthy for my taste.

When you mash the POV flip-flops, the time changes, the slowness and the amount of plots and sub-plots going on … it just didn’t end up well for me. I wanted to like it and I did at some points of the story but those times weren’t frequent enough to redeem the entire book for me.

Also, at the end, there were quite a few typos. They came out of nowhere! There weren’t any at the beginning of the book and then I’m on my last few pages and BAM! Typos. It was so weird and almost as if someone was editing and then chunked a deuce, said f-it and walked away ten pages from the end. Very strange.

Not the book for me but it’s a sweet story. Quite a few people have enjoyed it … apparently, I’m the mutant at table 9 on this one.

 

4.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Memorable Read

By Author Stephanie Parker McKean on May 22, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

Sidney, Georgia, was submerged in 1956, when the Army Corps of Engineers appropriated land for Buford Dam. An entire city, including church buildings, businesses, homes, and cemeteries became watery ghosts—ghosts with the power to transcend the cycle of time?

Lacey Madison Montgomery’s best friend Piper tricks her into attending a posh party on June 9, 2012. When Lacey accidentally finds her boyfriend Cole ravishing another girl at the party, she flees an action that takes her out on slippery roads during a heavy thunderstorm.

Lacey escapes a stalker only to plunge backward into the murky depths of Lake Lanier. She is rescued by Bobby Reynolds, a man who threatens to dissolve every barrier she has erected against men. She is amused by his penchant for retro from his car and house right down to his toothpaste. Then she reads the flag of the Sidney Gazette. The newspaper states the date as Sunday, November 6, 1949.

The likeable, believable characters in Casi McLean’s Beneath the Lake power the touching story of love’s triumph over every obstacle, even time. Realistic dialogue, a sprinkling of history, and unexpected twists add emphasis and drama in all the right places to make the story a memorable read.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Five Stars

By George Gill on April 27, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

First romance thriller and this author has me hooked!

 

4.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐

A great “beginners” time travel romance

By Megan Sanchez on April 27, 2016

Format: Paperback

Beneath the Lake was my first time travel romance, and I’m sure it won’t be my last. There was something about all the details coming together to form a complete story that hooked me. At the end of the book I was in love.

The descriptions are what drew me in at the beginning, but slowly I began to fall in love with the characters.

Watching this story unfold over decades and the plot twists that came along with it had me nearly in tears at the end of the book. Early in the story, some of the dialogue felt out of place and pulled me out of the story so it took me a bit longer than expected to finish this book. BUT once I got into the meat of the story I was pulled back in and rewarded with gems like this:

“His touch ignited desire in the deepest depths of my soul, a burning, bubbling molten lava flowing through my veins. There was no denying we were two parts of one heart.”Overall, reading this sparked an interest in a genre I previously had no interest in exploring. I’m excited to see where the rest of the books in the series go.

 

4.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Suspenseful and hard to put down

By Megan on April 9, 2016

Unlike anything else I’ve ever read! Suspenseful and entertaining, was hard to put the book down once I started reading. A brilliantly written, extremely original plot that never leaves you bored while reading. 100% recommend!

 

4.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Great read – check it out !

By Kam on March 26, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

If you enjoyed the movie The Lake House (starring Keanu Reeves and Sandra Bullock, 2006) then you’ll absolutely adore this novel. Two destined souls, from two different time periods, united (or reunited in their case) through a chain of events. Like the movie, it was sweet, romantic, and had a HEA.

But the story doesn’t end when the soul mates find their way back to each. No, Casi had a couple more surprises up her sleeve which kept me engaged to the very end. I truly believe it’ll have the same effect on you.

Great story and a true delight to read.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A NY Best Seller IMO!

By Jet on March 25, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

This is such a great book. It should be on the best sellers list! I hope everyone buys extras to pass out to friends. I love suspense, thriller, and historical fiction like John Grisham and stuff like the Rembrandt affair by Daniel Silva to give you an idea where my review is coming from. This is up there with the best. I am more than half way through and can’t wait to find out what happens! It has kept my attention (which is typically IMPOSSIBLE). I love how the characters are developed and am always surprised at what comes next. Extremely enjoyable. Truly, Casi McLean wrote an amazing story filled with imagination.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Awesome Read!

By Mary M on March 25, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

I love time travel, I think if it were possible I would love to travel back in time. But for now I will continue to read this type of stories instead.

Lacey Madison Montgomery starts out in 2012 going to a ritzy party her best friend Piper is having, and she hates parties. Turns out after she gets there, she seems to be having a good time, that is until she catches her boyfriend in the arms of another woman. Lacey leaves after throwing a vase of flowers on Cole and his “date”. She runs to her car and a storm has started with heavy rain and lightening. After she realizes that she should have stayed at the party, she turns around but can’t remember how to get back to Piper’s house. When she skids off the road and down a ravine. She tries to climb out but someone grabs her and she fights, hitting her head and falls into the lake.

When she wakes up the next day she is bruised from head to toe, a gash on her ankle and a big bump on her head. There is a man standing over her and he seems different. Not just that she can trust him, he speech, mannerisms, his car. It’s all different. When she sees the date on the newspaper, she nearly chokes on her food. It is November 6 1949. How is that possible?

While Bobby and Maddie become closer, his sister Sandy becomes the sister she has never had. She is finally finding love she has never known before. After a year with Bobby and Sandy does she even want to go back to the future? Then something happens and her world is blown apart again. Will she ever be whole again? Can she get back home? Can anyone help her? Why was she sent back in time?

This story is full of suspense which you will think the story is going one way and it goes the other, history, romance and a love across time. This is a first for me from Casi McLean and I am looking forward to reading more from her.

**Wicked Reads Review Team**

 

4.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐

By J. Kahele 

What a story

I don’t believe I have ever read about a time travel romance before and I have to say this was very good.After catching her boyfriend in a compromising position, Maddie leaves the party. The rain is pouring like crazy outside and her car skids and she loses control. Her car plummets off the side and towards the lake below.She crawls out of the car and tries to make her way up the side, slips and begins to descend down the side.She wakes up the next morning black and blue from head to toe and to s handsome face leaning over her. The man who has rescued her, Bobby.He is very nice, almost creepy nice and the way he talks is odd. It’s not until she sees a newspaper at a diner, that she realizes why. Somehow during the night she had traveled back in time to the year 1949.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

What a wonderful treat! This book had suspense

By Stacey Fountain on February 24, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

What a wonderful treat! This book had suspense, action, romance, and history. I fell in love with the main characters and the story line really drew me in. The details she gave of the lake and area surrounding it aroused my curiosity. I live near this lake and was intrigued to find out more about the lake’s beginnings. It was a real page turner and I didn’t want to put it down. I can’t wait to read Casi’s next book!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars 

By Dianne on January 28, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

Sometimes the worst moment of your life can lead you to the future you were meant to live. Lacey was witness to her boyfriend’s infidelity and her flight from the heart breaking will send her careening into the icy bowels of a frigid lake. She awoke in the arms of her future, while discovering she had been hurtled over thirty years into the past.

For Bobby, a successful and well-loved businessman, the woman he found unconscious stole his heart the minute she opened her eyes. Once Lacey realizes she is no longer in the year 2012, she must convince Bobby of events in the future that are about to happen. His huge leap of faith for the intelligent and unusual woman will change his future forever.

For as much as Lacey longs to go home, she realizes home is where her heart is, but there must be a way to return, but how to discover the mystery of the portal is the question. Will she bring devastating changes to the future by being here or was this Fate’s plan all along?
Only time will tell, as two hearts come together across time only to be separated again. Is there a time for Bobby and Lacey to be together? At what cost to those they love? Will their love bring doom to future generations?

Beneath the Lake by Casi McLean is a fantasy of romance, of true love knowing no bounds and she has captured the spirit of love in its purest form, even as her characters must face the bizarre circumstances they met under. From pain to joy, to disbelief to believing in miracles, Ms. McLean has created a finely woven tale that flows like a satiny sheet across the mind and heart. Her writing will make a believer out of even the most skeptical of non-believers in love. Let go of reality and take a stroll back in time.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

This is one of the best books I have read recently

By Amazon Customer on December 12, 2015

Format: Paperback

This is one of the best books I have read recently. It grabs your attention from the start and keeps you turning pages to the end. I never wanted to put the book down. Great book for everyone. I would recommend this book to everyone and I want to read it again. The author is brilliant and creative and makes a fiction book while staying historically correct to the history of Lake Lanier. So glad I read this book!!!!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A must read

By Ben Lichtenstein on December 1, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Really enjoyed the book! there are some great twists, it’s engaging and the ending was totally unexpected. really encourage you to check it out, you will not be disappointed. great story, funny, a real page turner. you won’t want to put it down.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I loved this story

By Amy Stevens Oct 30, 2015

I won this book from goodreads giveaways. I loved this story , it brings together the present and the past . Totally loved the ending . I will be sharing this book for others to read.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wowser! Overload your senses and Take a Dive into History.

By Melanie on October 15, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition

I love history, suspense, and a touch of romance. This book has it all! The writing style is so easy to follow, and the first paragraph sucked me right in. There are already enough spoilers in all the other reviews, so I’ll just say that the characters are interesting, likable, and fun to follow around through the story. The town (pre-lake) and surrounding areas are so well described that I feel like I’m actually there, experiencing the tastes and smells of that time period. I wasn’t sure what to expect with a “time-slip” story line, but WOWSER! I was pleasantly surprised and intrigued. My favorite part by far is how painstakingly accurate all of the history references are in this story. Kudos, Casi! Job well done.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

It Was Amazing!

By Alvin J.on October 8, 2015

Dear Fellow Fiction Fanatics,

I’d like to bring to your attention Casi McLean’s newest release, Beneath The Lake. The story is a charming tale of time travel, suspense and the power of true love. I would not be surprised to see this novel thrusting Casi into a movie production. In one sweeping effort, she stirred together the magic of time travel, a riveting mystery, and a star-crossed love affair for the ages. Her writing captures your interest from the first page and holds you captive with mesmerizing, page-turning compulsion, and a surprise twist ending that will linger long after the book is closed. Luckily, two more books in the series are on her docket. If you are looking for an absorbing story, order a copy of “Beneath The Lake and be prepared to set aside enough time to finish the whole book in one glorious read.

A. J. Rowe, III

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

BLOWN AWAY!

By Sandra D on September 27, 2015

Format: Paperback

Beneath the Lake is a time travel romance. It targets all age groups and has a heat level of sweet, (just a hint PG13).

I’d like to be professional and tell you about the plot, characterization, etc, but the only words that come to mind are HOLY COW! This story has it all. It’s the kind of story other authors are going to enjoy reading––and probably be inspired by. It’s a story that will stay with any reader for a very long time. I would go as far as to say, it’s the best book I’ve read in a long time. And, to top it off, it’s the author’s debut novel. If this is how she starts, I can’t wait to see where she goes from here. To wrap it up––I’m BLOWN AWAY!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

By Richard on September 27, 2015

I don’t normally read ‘romance novels’, but this one is quite good.

Not a lot of bodice ripping stuff… and no bedroom scenes…

a good story, some loose ends, which I expect the follow on novels will address.

Well done.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I loved this book – the history

By Barbara Hymas on September 25, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

I loved this book – the history, time travel and the mystery!! Good characterization and a great story. Give it a try!!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

WOW! Great book!

By Starr Gardinier on September 23, 2015

Format: Paperback

I couldn’t put down Beneath the Lake by Casi McLean. Warning! If you don’t have time to sit down and read, don’t pick up this book until you do. Seriously, it grabbed me from sentence one and you won’t want to put down this book and go back to work.

Innocently, Piper invites her best friend Lacey to a party. At the party, Lacey finds her boyfriend Cole in the arms of another woman. Dashing from the party, she rushes out into a storm and ends up crashing her car.

It’s when she wakes us her journey begins. It’s a voyage beyond one’s imagination. Lacey has always had issues with trust and love, stemming from the death of her mother. She seems to constantly pick the wrong man. Cole quickly becomes a bad memory when Lacey meets (again?) her true soulmate.

I really don’t want to say much more about the story for fear of ruining it for the reader. Suffice it to say, Lacey goes on a fantastical trip, bringing the reader with her. I will say however, it’s history in the making.

Can I give it ten stars? Most reviews are up to five stars, but it’s not enough for this book. Casi has such amazing talent that I’m breaking the mold and giving her 10 STARS. I absolutely recommend this book!

Reviewed by Starr Gardiner, author of The Other Side: Melinda’s Story, part of the Other Side series

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wow!

By DebA on September 22, 2015

I read an amazing tale of love that surpassing time and space. A romantic wholesome whimsical tale about second chances, time travel, and rediscovering true love. This may be a long story (398 pages) but it’s so worth it in the end. You’re in for a big surprise. By the time I finished the story, I was so overwhelmed by happy tears. I couldn’t wipe the tears away fast enough. Please make sure to keep a box of tissue handy before you finish the book.

Read the book to find out what happens in the story.

Beneath the Lake is the first book in the Beneath the Lake Series by Casi McLean. It deserves 4.5 stars!

The full review can be found on the below URL:

https://www.nightowlreviews.com/v5/Re…

DebA
Copyright Night Owl Reviews

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Time travel romance from debut author

By Katie O’Sullivan on September 10, 2015

I love time travel novels, especially when they offer something unique. In Beneath the Lake, debut author Casi McLean gives readers a new and interesting twist with a novel that shifts back and forth to give us different perspectives on events through time as they happen “simultaneously.”

The book starts firmly in the present, or so the reader thinks. Lacey Madison Montgomery is an Atlanta lawyer with some pretty big chips on her shoulder when it comes to relationships. The final straw comes when she finds her boyfriend in flagrante delicto with another woman at a benefit ball. She storms off into the night and crashes her car, sliding into the lake and losing consciousness.

She awakens in 1949, in the arms of a handsome stranger who helps her get her bearings and stirs feelings she’d given up on long ago. He also seems to live in a place that no longer exists, having been flooded to create a man-made lake in Lacey’s present, adding to the miscommunications between them. As I mentioned, she has some issues to work through, but 1949 seems to be the perfect time and place for her to slow down and figure out what she wants out of life and love.

Bobby Reynolds is handsome, polite, and his every innocent touch fills Lacie with heat and longing, although the author keeps the storyline PG-13, with sizzling kisses and closed bedroom doors. A WWII veteran, Bobby is the consummate gentleman. It’s obvious to the reader, if not to Lacey, that he soon falls head over heels for this gal from the future.

This is not a fast read, as the chapters zips between present, recent past, and the long ago past that Lacie finds herself stuck in and not wanting to leave. The author also shifts between the first person POV of Lacey’s perspective to third person narrative to give the alternate timelines.

All in all? A different take on a time travel romance that kept me turning pages well into the night. A really interesting story and solid debut novel from a new-to-me author. I recommend this novel and look forward to seeing what Casi McLean writes next!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Casi is very clever as she travels back and forth through time with this love story. As a man reading romance for the …

By Rickey on September 8, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

I had the opportunity to review this book in rough form a few years back. All I can tell you is I read it in two secessions. It draws your attention at first and then without warning you are hooked. Casi is very clever as she travels back and forth through time with this love story. As a man reading romance for the first time, I had big tears in my eyes. Congratulations Miss McLean on having the story published. I cannot wait to see it on the big screen!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

This book is such an awesome read! I loved it

By Hilary K. Johnson on September 7, 2015

Format: Paperback

This book is such an awesome read! I loved it, and I don’t normally read time-travel books. A great love story set in the ’40’s full of mystery and passion. Lots of twists and turns. You won’t want to put it down!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Beneath the Lake by Casi McLean

By JeannieHallAuthor on September 5, 2015

Format: Paperback

I received this story as an ARC for an honest review.

I’m very glad I was given this book to review. I’ve never read anything by Casi McLean before, but I definitely will in the future. Beneath the Lake is a time-travel romance with lots of suspense. Though everything happens in and around the same small town, due to the time travel element, the settings feel very different and unique. The love story takes place over the span of 63 years, but the distance of time only serves to ratchet up not just the suspense but the romance. Though the hero is from 1949 and the heroine is from 2012, their love is believable, deep, and at some points – heart-wrenching.

There were many times that I wasn’t sure how the author would manage to get this couple out of their difficult situation and into a happily ever after, but she pulls it off beautifully. Watch out for this up and coming author – you’ll be glad you did!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

And great characters. It is one of those books that …

By Sarah Scott on September 2, 2015

Format: Paperback

This book had something for everyone—suspense, romance, time travel, and great characters. It is one of those books that you think about during the day, and can’t wait to get a chance to pick it up and read more! It had a surprise ending that I thoroughly enjoyed! I would recommend this book to all my friends!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Fascinating read! Full of mystery, suspense, and romance.

By Bee on August 31, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

The story captured and kept my attention from the very beginning. The history of the lake and time travel was fascinating!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

It was a great read! I enjoyed the story line of how …

By TF on August 24, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

It was a great read! I enjoyed the story line of how the lake was developed and escaping back to how things “used to be”.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

If time slips were possible, this is how they would work

By Michael W. Bradish on August 18, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Not my normal genre, but very engaging with some really interesting and “in depth” (pun intended) history regarding the formation of Lake Lanier, with great insight to its impact on the residents and businesses whose property it took, whose lives it changed, the turmoil it caused as through perseverance, denial and resistance winners developed and losers fell into place, and by extension how other such projects would have impacted lives.

If time slips were possible, this is how they would work, with gripping confusion, disbelief, and indecision on how to carry on when you don’t know where/when you will wind up and when you are of the 21st century and find yourself not only out of your time, but out of place in a time when the social norms and constructs you know and live place you at odds with your new reality.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

If you love time travels you will love this story!

By Roni Adams on August 11, 2015

Format: Paperback

The author has written a time travel with a believable portal. Some time travels are so unbelievable that you can’t enjoy the story but not so in Beneath the Lake. The history of the Lake is fascinating and what happens to the town and its residents is interesting reading. The romance between the hero and heroine starts very naturally and makes the reader believe and root for the couple even S you know one of them has to give up their time period. The author has promised a series and I’m eager to read the next one. The author paints a vivid scene of life in the late 40s, early 50’s, her research was impeccable. If you love time travels this is a. lol you’d enjoy and an author you’ll want to follow.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Great Read

By Veebee on July 31, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

This was a great read. I couldn’t put it down.

 

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSave