Beneath The Lake Reviews

Amazon Customer Reviews

The good, the bad and the ugly…We post them all here…Amazon isn’t quite so accomodating. Sometimes reviews just disappear from their site, so we decided to head them off on ours. If you’ve posted and Amazon review for Beneath The Lake and don’t see your review listed below, please add your’s in the comment secttion and we will put it on our list.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

By Tena Stetler on July 13 2017

Interesting concept. I truly enjoyed the book, especially since I’ve been on Lake Lanier. Never look at the lake the same way. LOL Look forward to the next in the series! Beyond the Mist!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Time Travel with Romance and Suspense

By J. A. Davis on February 23, 2017

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Beneath the Lake by Author Casi McLean is a time travel novel that switches between 2012 and 1949 with the lake as its central theme. Author McLean used the formation of Lake Lanier as part of her historical reference and focal point. When she zeros in on the main heroine, Lacey, and her slip into the 1940, the author’s descriptions were colorful and accurate drawing the reader into story. This is a novel with romance and suspense cleverly woven together to keep a reader engaged and looking for clues to try to guess the ending.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

By Kimberly Keyes on Sep 30, 2016

In Beneath the Lake, a fantasy time-travel romance, Casi McLean shows herself to be a true story teller. From the first chapter, you will be hooked into the story of Lacey (aka Maddie) and her hero (Can’t tell who he is!! It’ll spoil the first few chapters!!). You’ll want to know how this time travel will occur, and when, and once it does, you’ll want to know what’s at stake, but Casi will keep you guessing. Once Lacey is in the thick of things in another time, you’ll really grow to like and root for this her character, a woman who has relationship troubles and parent issues just like the rest of us. Beneath the Lake’s sweet love story will warm your heart while the overall tale will keep you glued to the pages. For such a complex concept as time travel, I admire the way Casi Maclean manages to move her cast of characters around, and all without leaving any irritating “holes” that can happen when there’s a lot of moving parts, so to speak. The one thing that made me sad has to do with a certain someone who gets left behind in the past…but can’t say more than that without giving too much away. I highly recommend this book by Casi McLean and am looking forward to reading the second book in this series.

5.0 out of 5 stars
By Roma Dubac on Sep 30, 2016
I throughly enjoyed Beneath the Lake by Casi McLean. The story grabbed my attention from the very beginning and kept me hooked as it traveled back in time. The nostalgia was well-researched, with many interesting facts about that time period added. The characters, especially Lacey Montgomery, were multi-dimensional, so I kept wanting to know more about them. Everything came  together in an exciting climax; it left me curious and waiting for the sequel!

 

3.0 out of 5 stars

Quite a good read

By Poppy on September 27, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

Quite a good read not my usual kind of story but i really enjoyed it recommended.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Fantasy, time-travel, and romance all in one

By RF Hayes on September 30, 2016

Format: Paperback

In Beneath the Lake, a fantasy time-travel romance, Casi Maclean shows herself to be a true story teller. From the first chapter, you will be hooked into the story of Lacey (aka Maddie) and her hero (Can’t tell who!! It’ll spoil the first few chapters!!). You’ll want to know how this time travel will occur, and when, and once it does, you’ll want to know what’s at stake. Once Lacey is in the thick of things in another time, you’ll really grow to like and root for this complex character who has relationship troubles and parent issues just like the rest of s. Beneath the Lake’s sweet love story will warm your heart while the overall tale will keep you glued to the pages. I highly recommend this book by Casi Maclean and am looking forward to reading the second book in this series.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

A must read!

By Devon McKay on September 1, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

I absolutely loved this book. This was my first time travel read and it was well worth my time. I was hooked from the first page. McLean navigated from present to past seamlessly. The characters are well developed and interesting. I related to Lacey especially. She’s my kind of heroine!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

A Complex Story

By Laura Hartland on July 1, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

This is a complex and multi-layered story that builds in intensity as it goes along. The author takes her time setting up the action because there’s so much to put in motion. I mistakenly thought the book moved a bit slowly in the beginning––turns out I should have been paying closer attention to what I mistook for straightforward storytelling and flashbacks. I missed a whole lot of clues that fit together flawlessly to make for a killer ending,––but you won’t get any hints from me! I definitely wouldn’t want to ruin the fabulous climax of this one for anything.

I’m not sure what impressed me more the way the author kept all the strands of the web straight in her mind till the big finish, or the amount of research she must have done. Most of the story takes place in 1949/1950 and references were plentiful and accurate. Even the language fit the bill. Quite an achievement and much more than a love story, though the tale is certainly a very romantic one! All I can say is, don’t count your villains before they’re revealed and enjoy!

 

3.0 out of 5 stars

Quite a few people have enjoyed it … apparently, I’m the mutant at table 9 on this one.

By Julie on June 2, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

This is the first book that I’ve read by Casi McLean and I believe the first that I’ve read about time-travel. I’m thinking that I’m wrong about that though …

Before sitting down to write this review, I really scoured other reviews to make sure that I wouldn’t leak a secret that would really ruin the book for someone. This was not a fun task … I absolutely hate reading what someone else thinks of a book right before I write my review, I don’t want their thoughts to sway what I think, you know? Anyhow … I ended up writing down my thoughts and then taking out spoilers. Worked out pretty well, I think.

Okay … it’s no secret that this book is about time-travel. It’s all over Goodreads and it’s not something that everyone is keeping quiet. I’m a-okay with the idea of time-travel. Buuuutttt … when the story jumps from 2011 to 2012 to 1949 … it’s a bit much. I almost got whiplash just trying to keep up with the times. The switching was so confusing at the beginning of the book that I almost put the book down a few times. It just really stole something from the book. I wasn’t able to completely immerse myself into the story because I never felt like I was on steady ground because of the disorienting time changes.

The meat of the story was good but then again, there was just so much going on that I couldn’t fully enjoy the crux of the whole book. For it to read as slow as it did, you wouldn’t think that there would be too many things going on. There was a lot of inner dialogue and explanations that were a little too lengthy for my taste.

When you mash the POV flip-flops, the time changes, the slowness and the amount of plots and sub-plots going on … it just didn’t end up well for me. I wanted to like it and I did at some points of the story but those times weren’t frequent enough to redeem the entire book for me.

Also, at the end, there were quite a few typos. They came out of nowhere! There weren’t any at the beginning of the book and then I’m on my last few pages and BAM! Typos. It was so weird and almost as if someone was editing and then chunked a deuce, said f-it and walked away ten pages from the end. Very strange.

Not the book for me but it’s a sweet story. Quite a few people have enjoyed it … apparently, I’m the mutant at table 9 on this one.

 

4.0 out of 5 stars

Memorable Read

By Author Stephanie Parker McKean on May 22, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

Sidney, Georgia, was submerged in 1956, when the Army Corps of Engineers appropriated land for Buford Dam. An entire city, including church buildings, businesses, homes, and cemeteries became watery ghosts—ghosts with the power to transcend the cycle of time?

Lacey Madison Montgomery’s best friend Piper tricks her into attending a posh party on June 9, 2012. When Lacey accidentally finds her boyfriend Cole ravishing another girl at the party, she flees an action that takes her out on slippery roads during a heavy thunderstorm.

Lacey escapes a stalker only to plunge backward into the murky depths of Lake Lanier. She is rescued by Bobby Reynolds, a man who threatens to dissolve every barrier she has erected against men. She is amused by his penchant for retro from his car and house right down to his toothpaste. Then she reads the flag of the Sidney Gazette. The newspaper states the date as Sunday, November 6, 1949.

The likeable, believable characters in Casi McLean’s Beneath the Lake power the touching story of love’s triumph over every obstacle, even time. Realistic dialogue, a sprinkling of history, and unexpected twists add emphasis and drama in all the right places to make the story a memorable read.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Five Stars

By George Gill on April 27, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

First romance thriller and this author has me hooked!

 

4.0 out of 5 stars 

A great “beginners” time travel romance

By Megan Sanchez on April 27, 2016

Format: Paperback

Beneath the Lake was my first time travel romance, and I’m sure it won’t be my last. There was something about all the details coming together to form a complete story that hooked me. At the end of the book I was in love.

The descriptions are what drew me in at the beginning, but slowly I began to fall in love with the characters.

Watching this story unfold over decades and the plot twists that came along with it had me nearly in tears at the end of the book. Early in the story, some of the dialogue felt out of place and pulled me out of the story so it took me a bit longer than expected to finish this book. BUT once I got into the meat of the story I was pulled back in and rewarded with gems like this:

“His touch ignited desire in the deepest depths of my soul, a burning, bubbling molten lava flowing through my veins. There was no denying we were two parts of one heart.”Overall, reading this sparked an interest in a genre I previously had no interest in exploring. I’m excited to see where the rest of the books in the series go.

 

4.0 out of 5 stars 

Suspenseful and hard to put down

By Megan on April 9, 2016

Unlike anything else I’ve ever read! Suspenseful and entertaining, was hard to put the book down once I started reading. A brilliantly written, extremely original plot that never leaves you bored while reading. 100% recommend!

 

4.0 out of 5 stars

Great read – check it out !

By Kam on March 26, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

If you enjoyed the movie The Lake House (starring Keanu Reeves and Sandra Bullock, 2006) then you’ll absolutely adore this novel. Two destined souls, from two different time periods, united (or reunited in their case) through a chain of events. Like the movie, it was sweet, romantic, and had a HEA.

But the story doesn’t end when the soul mates find their way back to each. No, Casi had a couple more surprises up her sleeve which kept me engaged to the very end. I truly believe it’ll have the same effect on you.

Great story and a true delight to read.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

A NY Best Seller IMO!

By Jet on March 25, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

This is such a great book. It should be on the best sellers list! I hope everyone buys extras to pass out to friends. I love suspense, thriller, and historical fiction like John Grisham and stuff like the Rembrandt affair by Daniel Silva to give you an idea where my review is coming from. This is up there with the best. I am more than half way through and can’t wait to find out what happens! It has kept my attention (which is typically IMPOSSIBLE). I love how the characters are developed and am always surprised at what comes next. Extremely enjoyable. Truly, Casi McLean wrote an amazing story filled with imagination.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Awesome Read!

By Mary M on March 25, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

I love time travel, I think if it were possible I would love to travel back in time. But for now I will continue to read this type of stories instead.

Lacey Madison Montgomery starts out in 2012 going to a ritzy party her best friend Piper is having, and she hates parties. Turns out after she gets there, she seems to be having a good time, that is until she catches her boyfriend in the arms of another woman. Lacey leaves after throwing a vase of flowers on Cole and his “date”. She runs to her car and a storm has started with heavy rain and lightening. After she realizes that she should have stayed at the party, she turns around but can’t remember how to get back to Piper’s house. When she skids off the road and down a ravine. She tries to climb out but someone grabs her and she fights, hitting her head and falls into the lake.

When she wakes up the next day she is bruised from head to toe, a gash on her ankle and a big bump on her head. There is a man standing over her and he seems different. Not just that she can trust him, he speech, mannerisms, his car. It’s all different. When she sees the date on the newspaper, she nearly chokes on her food. It is November 6 1949. How is that possible?

While Bobby and Maddie become closer, his sister Sandy becomes the sister she has never had. She is finally finding love she has never known before. After a year with Bobby and Sandy does she even want to go back to the future? Then something happens and her world is blown apart again. Will she ever be whole again? Can she get back home? Can anyone help her? Why was she sent back in time?

This story is full of suspense which you will think the story is going one way and it goes the other, history, romance and a love across time. This is a first for me from Casi McLean and I am looking forward to reading more from her.

**Wicked Reads Review Team**

 

4.0 out of 5 stars 

By J. Kahele 

What a story

I don’t believe I have ever read about a time travel romance before and I have to say this was very good.After catching her boyfriend in a compromising position, Maddie leaves the party. The rain is pouring like crazy outside and her car skids and she loses control. Her car plummets off the side and towards the lake below.She crawls out of the car and tries to make her way up the side, slips and begins to descend down the side.She wakes up the next morning black and blue from head to toe and to s handsome face leaning over her. The man who has rescued her, Bobby.He is very nice, almost creepy nice and the way he talks is odd. It’s not until she sees a newspaper at a diner, that she realizes why. Somehow during the night she had traveled back in time to the year 1949.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars 

What a wonderful treat! This book had suspense

By Stacey Fountain on February 24, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

What a wonderful treat! This book had suspense, action, romance, and history. I fell in love with the main characters and the story line really drew me in. The details she gave of the lake and area surrounding it aroused my curiosity. I live near this lake and was intrigued to find out more about the lake’s beginnings. It was a real page turner and I didn’t want to put it down. I can’t wait to read Casi’s next book!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars 

By Dianne on January 28, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

Sometimes the worst moment of your life can lead you to the future you were meant to live. Lacey was witness to her boyfriend’s infidelity and her flight from the heart breaking will send her careening into the icy bowels of a frigid lake. She awoke in the arms of her future, while discovering she had been hurtled over thirty years into the past.

For Bobby, a successful and well-loved businessman, the woman he found unconscious stole his heart the minute she opened her eyes. Once Lacey realizes she is no longer in the year 2012, she must convince Bobby of events in the future that are about to happen. His huge leap of faith for the intelligent and unusual woman will change his future forever.

For as much as Lacey longs to go home, she realizes home is where her heart is, but there must be a way to return, but how to discover the mystery of the portal is the question. Will she bring devastating changes to the future by being here or was this Fate’s plan all along?
Only time will tell, as two hearts come together across time only to be separated again. Is there a time for Bobby and Lacey to be together? At what cost to those they love? Will their love bring doom to future generations?

Beneath the Lake by Casi McLean is a fantasy of romance, of true love knowing no bounds and she has captured the spirit of love in its purest form, even as her characters must face the bizarre circumstances they met under. From pain to joy, to disbelief to believing in miracles, Ms. McLean has created a finely woven tale that flows like a satiny sheet across the mind and heart. Her writing will make a believer out of even the most skeptical of non-believers in love. Let go of reality and take a stroll back in time.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

This is one of the best books I have read recently

By Amazon Customer on December 12, 2015

Format: Paperback

This is one of the best books I have read recently. It grabs your attention from the start and keeps you turning pages to the end. I never wanted to put the book down. Great book for everyone. I would recommend this book to everyone and I want to read it again. The author is brilliant and creative and makes a fiction book while staying historically correct to the history of Lake Lanier. So glad I read this book!!!!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

A must read

By Ben Lichtenstein on December 1, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Really enjoyed the book! there are some great twists, it’s engaging and the ending was totally unexpected. really encourage you to check it out, you will not be disappointed. great story, funny, a real page turner. you won’t want to put it down.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

I loved this story

By Amy Stevens Oct 30, 2015

I won this book from goodreads giveaways. I loved this story , it brings together the present and the past . Totally loved the ending . I will be sharing this book for others to read.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars 

Wowser! Overload your senses and Take a Dive into History.

By Melanie on October 15, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition

I love history, suspense, and a touch of romance. This book has it all! The writing style is so easy to follow, and the first paragraph sucked me right in. There are already enough spoilers in all the other reviews, so I’ll just say that the characters are interesting, likable, and fun to follow around through the story. The town (pre-lake) and surrounding areas are so well described that I feel like I’m actually there, experiencing the tastes and smells of that time period. I wasn’t sure what to expect with a “time-slip” story line, but WOWSER! I was pleasantly surprised and intrigued. My favorite part by far is how painstakingly accurate all of the history references are in this story. Kudos, Casi! Job well done.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

It Was Amazing!

By Alvin J.on October 8, 2015

Dear Fellow Fiction Fanatics,

I’d like to bring to your attention Casi McLean’s newest release, Beneath The Lake. The story is a charming tale of time travel, suspense and the power of true love. I would not be surprised to see this novel thrusting Casi into a movie production. In one sweeping effort, she stirred together the magic of time travel, a riveting mystery, and a star-crossed love affair for the ages. Her writing captures your interest from the first page and holds you captive with mesmerizing, page-turning compulsion, and a surprise twist ending that will linger long after the book is closed. Luckily, two more books in the series are on her docket. If you are looking for an absorbing story, order a copy of “Beneath The Lake and be prepared to set aside enough time to finish the whole book in one glorious read.

A. J. Rowe, III

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

BLOWN AWAY!

By Sandra D on September 27, 2015

Format: Paperback

Beneath the Lake is a time travel romance. It targets all age groups and has a heat level of sweet, (just a hint PG13).

I’d like to be professional and tell you about the plot, characterization, etc, but the only words that come to mind are HOLY COW! This story has it all. It’s the kind of story other authors are going to enjoy reading––and probably be inspired by. It’s a story that will stay with any reader for a very long time. I would go as far as to say, it’s the best book I’ve read in a long time. And, to top it off, it’s the author’s debut novel. If this is how she starts, I can’t wait to see where she goes from here. To wrap it up––I’m BLOWN AWAY!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars 

By Richard on September 27, 2015

I don’t normally read ‘romance novels’, but this one is quite good.

Not a lot of bodice ripping stuff… and no bedroom scenes…

a good story, some loose ends, which I expect the follow on novels will address.

Well done.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

I loved this book – the history

By Barbara Hymas on September 25, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

I loved this book – the history, time travel and the mystery!! Good characterization and a great story. Give it a try!!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

WOW! Great book!

By Starr Gardinier on September 23, 2015

Format: Paperback

I couldn’t put down Beneath the Lake by Casi McLean. Warning! If you don’t have time to sit down and read, don’t pick up this book until you do. Seriously, it grabbed me from sentence one and you won’t want to put down this book and go back to work.

Innocently, Piper invites her best friend Lacey to a party. At the party, Lacey finds her boyfriend Cole in the arms of another woman. Dashing from the party, she rushes out into a storm and ends up crashing her car.

It’s when she wakes us her journey begins. It’s a voyage beyond one’s imagination. Lacey has always had issues with trust and love, stemming from the death of her mother. She seems to constantly pick the wrong man. Cole quickly becomes a bad memory when Lacey meets (again?) her true soulmate.

I really don’t want to say much more about the story for fear of ruining it for the reader. Suffice it to say, Lacey goes on a fantastical trip, bringing the reader with her. I will say however, it’s history in the making.

Can I give it ten stars? Most reviews are up to five stars, but it’s not enough for this book. Casi has such amazing talent that I’m breaking the mold and giving her 10 STARS. I absolutely recommend this book!

Reviewed by Starr Gardiner, author of The Other Side: Melinda’s Story, part of the Other Side series

 

5.0 out of 5 stars 

Wow!

By DebA on September 22, 2015

I read an amazing tale of love that surpassing time and space. A romantic wholesome whimsical tale about second chances, time travel, and rediscovering true love. This may be a long story (398 pages) but it’s so worth it in the end. You’re in for a big surprise. By the time I finished the story, I was so overwhelmed by happy tears. I couldn’t wipe the tears away fast enough. Please make sure to keep a box of tissue handy before you finish the book.

Read the book to find out what happens in the story.

Beneath the Lake is the first book in the Beneath the Lake Series by Casi McLean. It deserves 4.5 stars!

The full review can be found on the below URL:

https://www.nightowlreviews.com/v5/Re…

DebA
Copyright Night Owl Reviews

 

5.0 out of 5 stars 

Time travel romance from debut author

By Katie O’Sullivan on September 10, 2015

I love time travel novels, especially when they offer something unique. In Beneath the Lake, debut author Casi McLean gives readers a new and interesting twist with a novel that shifts back and forth to give us different perspectives on events through time as they happen “simultaneously.”

The book starts firmly in the present, or so the reader thinks. Lacey Madison Montgomery is an Atlanta lawyer with some pretty big chips on her shoulder when it comes to relationships. The final straw comes when she finds her boyfriend in flagrante delicto with another woman at a benefit ball. She storms off into the night and crashes her car, sliding into the lake and losing consciousness.

She awakens in 1949, in the arms of a handsome stranger who helps her get her bearings and stirs feelings she’d given up on long ago. He also seems to live in a place that no longer exists, having been flooded to create a man-made lake in Lacey’s present, adding to the miscommunications between them. As I mentioned, she has some issues to work through, but 1949 seems to be the perfect time and place for her to slow down and figure out what she wants out of life and love.

Bobby Reynolds is handsome, polite, and his every innocent touch fills Lacie with heat and longing, although the author keeps the storyline PG-13, with sizzling kisses and closed bedroom doors. A WWII veteran, Bobby is the consummate gentleman. It’s obvious to the reader, if not to Lacey, that he soon falls head over heels for this gal from the future.

This is not a fast read, as the chapters zips between present, recent past, and the long ago past that Lacie finds herself stuck in and not wanting to leave. The author also shifts between the first person POV of Lacey’s perspective to third person narrative to give the alternate timelines.

All in all? A different take on a time travel romance that kept me turning pages well into the night. A really interesting story and solid debut novel from a new-to-me author. I recommend this novel and look forward to seeing what Casi McLean writes next!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars 

Casi is very clever as she travels back and forth through time with this love story. As a man reading romance for the …

By Rickey on September 8, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

I had the opportunity to review this book in rough form a few years back. All I can tell you is I read it in two secessions. It draws your attention at first and then without warning you are hooked. Casi is very clever as she travels back and forth through time with this love story. As a man reading romance for the first time, I had big tears in my eyes. Congratulations Miss McLean on having the story published. I cannot wait to see it on the big screen!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars 

This book is such an awesome read! I loved it

By Hilary K. Johnson on September 7, 2015

Format: Paperback

This book is such an awesome read! I loved it, and I don’t normally read time-travel books. A great love story set in the ’40’s full of mystery and passion. Lots of twists and turns. You won’t want to put it down!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars 

Beneath the Lake by Casi McLean

By JeannieHallAuthor on September 5, 2015

Format: Paperback

I received this story as an ARC for an honest review.

I’m very glad I was given this book to review. I’ve never read anything by Casi McLean before, but I definitely will in the future. Beneath the Lake is a time-travel romance with lots of suspense. Though everything happens in and around the same small town, due to the time travel element, the settings feel very different and unique. The love story takes place over the span of 63 years, but the distance of time only serves to ratchet up not just the suspense but the romance. Though the hero is from 1949 and the heroine is from 2012, their love is believable, deep, and at some points – heart-wrenching.

There were many times that I wasn’t sure how the author would manage to get this couple out of their difficult situation and into a happily ever after, but she pulls it off beautifully. Watch out for this up and coming author – you’ll be glad you did!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

And great characters. It is one of those books that …

By Sarah Scott on September 2, 2015

Format: Paperback

This book had something for everyone—suspense, romance, time travel, and great characters. It is one of those books that you think about during the day, and can’t wait to get a chance to pick it up and read more! It had a surprise ending that I thoroughly enjoyed! I would recommend this book to all my friends!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Fascinating read! Full of mystery, suspense, and romance.

By Bee on August 31, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

The story captured and kept my attention from the very beginning. The history of the lake and time travel was fascinating!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

It was a great read! I enjoyed the story line of how …

By TF on August 24, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

It was a great read! I enjoyed the story line of how the lake was developed and escaping back to how things “used to be”.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

If time slips were possible, this is how they would work

By Michael W. Bradish on August 18, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Not my normal genre, but very engaging with some really interesting and “in depth” (pun intended) history regarding the formation of Lake Lanier, with great insight to its impact on the residents and businesses whose property it took, whose lives it changed, the turmoil it caused as through perseverance, denial and resistance winners developed and losers fell into place, and by extension how other such projects would have impacted lives.

If time slips were possible, this is how they would work, with gripping confusion, disbelief, and indecision on how to carry on when you don’t know where/when you will wind up and when you are of the 21st century and find yourself not only out of your time, but out of place in a time when the social norms and constructs you know and live place you at odds with your new reality.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

If you love time travels you will love this story!

By Roni Adams on August 11, 2015

Format: Paperback

The author has written a time travel with a believable portal. Some time travels are so unbelievable that you can’t enjoy the story but not so in Beneath the Lake. The history of the Lake is fascinating and what happens to the town and its residents is interesting reading. The romance between the hero and heroine starts very naturally and makes the reader believe and root for the couple even S you know one of them has to give up their time period. The author has promised a series and I’m eager to read the next one. The author paints a vivid scene of life in the late 40s, early 50’s, her research was impeccable. If you love time travels this is a. lol you’d enjoy and an author you’ll want to follow.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great Read

By Veebee on July 31, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

This was a great read. I couldn’t put it down.

Enter For A FREE Gift
Sign up for a FREE digital short story from award-winning Casi McLean's 5-Star Destiny Series!
No one needs spam! Your email address will never be sold or shared.